• This was Fred Day’s personal library. It connects by a small set of stairs to his bedroom above, enabling him to use this area of the house as a private space.
  • The room is a unique, multi-level space. The desk and chairs are original furnishings purchased at the auction held after Mr. Day’s death. 
  • The cast iron fireplace was salvaged from the demolition of an early South Dedham dwelling, the Capt. William Everett house which stood on the old Post Road at Willow Street from the early 1700s to about 1880. Its rescue signifies Day’s lifelong interest in local history.
  • The frieze which decorates the walls is a miniature copy cast to simulate ivory. The original frieze is from the Parthenon (Athens, Greece) and is housed at the British Museum.
  • The wallpaper was installed by the historical society. Some fragments of the original gray-blue wallpaper remains behind bookshelves in the balcony area.
  • Day collected books and during his lifetime the shelves were filled with rare books. These were sold by Goodspeed’s of Boston following his death. Fred Day also had a large collection pertaining to the life and works of poet John Keats. He kept this prized collection in the far corner of the room near his desk. At Day’s instructions, the collection was sent (anonymously) to the Keats Homestead in London, England. 
  • Fred Day’s interest in books led him to a career in publishing. During the 1890s Copeland & Day of Boston (which Day founded along with friend Herbert Copeland) published the works of emerging and avant-garde authors and poets in beautifully crafted printings with fine illustrations. Day’s interest in books and literature continued throughout his life, but a new career opened as he began to explore the artistic possibilities of photography. Within a few years Day achieved international fame as a pictorial photographer.  
  • The Historical Society’s collection housed in this library today is composed of historical volumes donated by members, the town of Norwood, the Grand Army of the Republic, and other historical organizations. Day’s notebooks of genealogical research are kept on shelves in the corner. Under the interior window is Day’s collection of local history books which he used for research.

Day House Tour


 (“GREEN and RED ROOM”(in 1893 inventory)   This was Fred Holland Day’s bedroom and study from 1893 until 1919. A writing desk drops down behind the doors to the right in the window area.  A narrow draped bed stood in the…

Related:  F Holland Day House Tour-Fred Holland Day's Bedroom

 (“BLUE ROOM” (in 1893 inventory)  Fred Holland Day referred to this room as “The Colonial Room” and initially housed his collection of local history artifacts and objects here. Later the room was used by Day as a bedroom from 1919…


(“Yellow Room” in 1893 inventory) Anna (Smith) Day was born 1836 and died in 1922.  The painting shows her at 4 or 5 years old.  Her silk gown and jewelry illustrate the Smith family’s wealth.  The cradle beneath the portrait…


The needlework tapestry at the top of the stairs came from the Beacon Street home of John Hancock (demolished 1863).  It was given to the Society by the Honorable Frank G. Allen, a Norwood resident and Governor of Massachusetts from…


The Norwood Historical Society’s Fred Holland Day House        Until his death in 1933, the Day House was the residence of Fred Holland Day, noted photographer, publisher, historian, and philanthropist.  F.H. Day, the only child of wealthy, indulgent parents, had…

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.